The Carlington Summit

The Bel-Air Copeland Lions Football Football Club ended the 2000 season with some exciting play-off games.

The Bantams fell behind early and lost to the Cumberland Panthers in a tight defensive battle, while the Pee-Wees were defeated 12-0 by the Canterbury Mustangs in a game that was decided in the late minutes.

The Mosquitos fared better in triumphing over the Gloucester South Raiders. Adam Gourgon made some spectacular catches and runs, while Geoff Turnbull had an excellent game running also. Josh Chartier was on the receiving end of a halfback pass for a long touchdown in the final quarter. The victory was ensured by a timely fumble recovery by the alert James McIntyre.

The Tykes saved their best game of the year for the play-offs. After winning a squeaker against the Bell Warriors two weeks previously, the young Lions were clear winners in this contest. Stevie Anderson had two long TDs, Ricky Clostre, Matt Gourgon, and Dillon Potter with his first of the year, also chipped in with six pointers. Justin Chartier and Wassim Sayegh had their usual stand-out games for the defence.

Following the play-offs, the club had its annual banquets. Each player was recognized by the club, and individual trophies were also presented.

The President's Trophy which is awarded to the player who best represents the team both on and off the field was presented to Justin Chartier for Tyke, Jay Cochrane for Mosquito, Vince Patricelli for Pee-Wee, and Chris Lewis for Bantam.

For Mosquito, the MVP was Josh Chartier, Most Improved was Ian Pell, Most Dedicated player was Matt Scott, and the Best Lineman was Jamie Davidson.

In Pee-Wee, MVP was Mac Saleh, Most Improved Konrad Binder, Most Dedicated Crystal Corneau, and Best Lineman Ryan Mousseau.

For Bantam, John Crupi was the Offensive MVP, Ryan Proulx Defensive MVP, Jason Hoy was Most Improved, Britt Thurston was Most Dedicated, and Simon Binder won Best Lineman.

Also presented was the Floyd Bell Award to a deserving club volunteer. Lisa Chartier was thanked for her many years of outstanding service to the Lions.

John Crupi won the award for the graduating player who contributed greatly to all four levels over his Bel-Air career.

Everyone enjoyed a fine meal, and there were numerous door prizes collected through the hard work of Keith Lewis, and the donations of many businesses and individuals in the community.

Kriss Stallabrass, Craig Morden, and Janet Crupi are the volunteers largely responsible for the great time at the banquet, and leaving the players with a memory to hold onto until next season. Hopefully all players and volunteers will be back in 2001.